Welcome to Britlink

Welcome to the Britlink, exploring all things British, past and present.
More areas will be added in the future, work is in progress, so there are many more pages to add, I hope you enjoy this site.
Please feel free to come with any corrections or suggestions for future pages.
Is there something British that interests you? Write a page and have it included on Britlink for free.


The British Empire

britanniaThe British Empire comprised the dominions, colonies, protectorates, mandates and other territories ruled or administered by the United Kingdom.
It originated with the overseas colonies and trading posts established by England in the late 16th and early 17th centuries. At its height, it was the largest empire in history and, for over a century, was the foremost global power. By 1922 the British Empire held sway over about 458 million people, one-fifth of the world’s population at the time, and covered more than 33,700,000 km2 (13,012,000 sq mi), almost a quarter of the Earth’s total land area.

As a result, its political, linguistic and cultural legacy is widespread. At the peak of its power, it was often said that “the sun never sets on the British Empire” because its span across the globe ensured that the sun was always shining on at least one of its numerous territories.
During the Age of Discovery in the 15th and 16th centuries, Portugal and Spain pioneered European exploration of the globe, and in the process established large overseas empires.

Envious of the great wealth these empires bestowed, England, France and the Netherlands began to establish colonies and trade networks of their own in the Americas and Asia. A series of wars in the 17th and 18th centuries with the Netherlands and France left England (Britain, following the 1707 Act of Union with Scotland) the dominant colonial power in North America and India.
The loss of the Thirteen Colonies in North America in 1783 after a war of independence deprived Britain of some of its oldest and most populous colonies. British attention soon turned towards Africa, Asia and the Pacific. Following the defeat of Napoleonic France in 1815, Britain enjoyed a century of almost unchallenged dominance, and expanded its imperial holdings across the globe. Increasing degrees of autonomy were granted to its white settler colonies, some of which were reclassified as dominions.


British Overseas Territories

The Union Jack flying over the Falkland Islands

The Union Jack flying over the Falkland Islands

The British Overseas Territories (formerly known as a dependent territories or earlier as a crown colonies) are territories that are under the sovereignty and formal control of the United Kingdom, though not part of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
Overseas territories should be distinguished from crown dependencies (the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man, which have a different constitutional relationship with the United Kingdom), and protectorates (which were not formally under the sovereignty of the United Kingdom).
They should also not be confused with Commonwealth realms, which are independent states sharing the same sovereign as the United Kingdom.
At one time, most crown colonies were directly administered by officials appointed by the British government.
Today, however most overseas territories are self-governing, only relying on Britain for defence, foreign affairs, and some trade issues.
Overseas territories have never been considered integral parts of the United Kingdom, and have never had representation in the British Parliament, on the grounds that they are separate jurisdictions.This is in contrast to other European countries, such as France, Denmark, and the Netherlands, whose dependencies have varying degrees of integration with their so-called ‘mother countries’.
Only in Malta was integration ever seriously considered by the British Government, in 1955, though this was later abandoned, while in Gibraltar it was rejected in 1976.

Their continued relationship with Britain is, based on the democratic principle of self determination, they have chosen to remain British. Citizens of all the British Overseas Territories have the right of abode in the United Kingdom.


Share Button