Anguilla House of Assembly dissolved and Returning Officers sworn-in

anguilla-flagThe Anguilla House of Assembly has today been dissolved in advance of the forthcoming election as provided for by subsection (2) of section 63 of the Constitution of Anguilla. The election must now take place on or before Friday 24 April 2015. A further announcement of the date for the election will be made in due course.

The Governor will also formally swear-in the Returning Officers on Wednesday afternoon.
The Returning Officers for each district will be as follows:
District 1: Mr Rodney Rey
District 2: Mr Bernard Wattley
District 3: Ms Laureen Bryan
District 4: Ms Melissa Meade
District 5: Mr Sinclair Buchanan
District 6: Mr Gifford Connor
District 7: Mrs Gracita Christopher

Executive Council has already approved and published guidance to inform public officers and elected officials of the principles that inform decision making between the dissolution and the election. This guidance makes clear that:

“The dissolution of the House of Assembly does not affect the day-to-day business of the Government. Executive Council members remain in charge of their portfolios. Following the dissolution of the House of Assembly it is, however, expected that Ministers will refrain from initiating any action of a continuing or long-term character. Decisions on matters of policy, board appointments and other issues (for e.g. large and or contentious procurement contracts) on which a new Government could reasonably be expected to want the opportunity to take a different view from the present Government should be postponed until after the election, where such postponement would not be detrimental to the national interest nor wasteful of public money.”

Detailed planning continues to ensure that Anguilla’s elections are free, fair and efficiently run, with the Supervisor of Elections, Ms Aurjul Wilson, conducting weekly training sessions in preparation for Polling Day.
1. The guidance for public servants can be located at:…/Elections_Guidelines_25_11_14.pdf

2. A copy of the signed Proclamation seen below.

3. A Press Conference will take place at the Teachers Resource Centre on Wednesday February 25th, 2015 at 4pm. In attendance will be H.E. Governor Christina Scott and Supervisor of Elections Ms. Aurjul Wilson

Governor’s Office
25 February 2015